Skip to content

Jasper vs Writer vs Copy.ai: Which AI Content Platform in 2026

Jasper vs Writer vs Copy.ai in 2026: pricing, brand voice controls, agents, workflows, security and MCP compared, plus how to choose for your team.

Comparisons7 min read
By the AI App Hunters editors
Abstract illustration of three document cards in blue, green and amber linked by dotted arcs above a row of color swatches

Jasper, WRITER and Copy.ai all started as AI writing tools, and in 2026 they have split into three different products. Pick Jasper if your marketing team needs on-brand content and agents at a per-seat price. Pick WRITER if you are a large or regulated company that needs governance, security certifications and company-wide rollout. Pick Copy.ai if you want cheap team chat or are ready to automate sales and marketing workflows at a fixed annual budget.

Key takeaways

  • Copy.ai has the lowest entry price: its Chat plan costs $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 5 seats (as of October 2026).
  • Jasper Pro costs $69 per seat a month, or $59 billed yearly, and includes brand voices, knowledge assets, audiences and marketing agents.
  • WRITER does not publish Starter prices. Starter covers up to 5 users with a 14-day free trial, and Enterprise is sold through sales.
  • Jasper is the only one of the three with documented MCP support, so its brand context can travel into Claude and ChatGPT.
  • Copy.ai's workflow plans start at $1,000 a month billed yearly, which makes it a go-to-market automation purchase rather than a writing tool.

How do Jasper, Writer and Copy.ai compare?

All prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's pricing page.

Jasper WRITER Copy.ai
Positioning Agent workspace for marketing teams Enterprise AI platform for agentic work Go-to-market AI platform
Entry plan Pro: $69 per seat a month, $59 billed yearly Starter: per-seat price not listed Chat: $29 a month, $24 billed yearly
Seats on entry plan 1 (more users through sales) Up to 5 5
Free trial 7 days on Pro 14 days on Starter, no card Not stated
Brand controls 2 voices, 5 knowledge assets, 3 audiences on Pro; unlimited on Business 1 team voice profile on Starter; departmental profiles on Enterprise Brand Voice and Infobase
Automation Agents; no-code agent builder and Grid on Business Playbooks (5 on Starter); Agent Builder on Enterprise Workflows, agents and tables; 20K to 75K workflow credits a month on paid workflow plans
MCP Yes, hosted and local Not mentioned Not mentioned
Best for Marketing teams that write a lot on brand Large and regulated enterprises Small teams on a budget, or GTM teams automating at volume

What do you get with Jasper?

Jasper describes itself as "the agent workspace built for modern marketing teams." The product has three layers: agents for jobs such as SEO and GEO content, campaigns, email, social and research; content pipelines built in Canvas; and Jasper IQ, which holds brand voices, a knowledge base and audience profiles. Jasper's pitch is that "admins set the rules once; every generation follows them."

Pro costs $69 per seat a month on monthly billing, or $59 billed yearly with a 12-month commitment. It includes one seat, Canvas, agents for core marketing workflows, 2 brand voices, 5 knowledge assets and 3 audiences. There is a 7-day free trial.

Business is custom priced and starts with a 12-month commitment. It adds agents for more complex work, including GEO, translation and deep research, a no-code builder for custom agents, Jasper Grid, unlimited brand voices, knowledge and audiences, API access, admin controls and groups, and a dedicated account manager. Jasper's FAQ notes that GEO Hub and agents run on credits on Business, so ask how credits are counted before you sign.

The standout for 2026 is MCP. Jasper hosts an MCP server at mcp.jasper.ai, with OAuth sign-in or an API key, plus a local desktop extension and NPM package. Its tools let an outside assistant generate content, run Jasper agents and search the knowledge base using your brand voices and style rules. Jasper lists quickstarts for Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot Studio, OpenAI Agent Builder and n8n. If your team already writes in Claude or ChatGPT, this means you do not have to choose between the assistant people like and the brand rules marketing owns. See our Works with Claude collection for other tools that connect the same way.

Where it fits: in-house marketing teams that produce a steady flow of content and want guardrails without building their own system. Note that Pro is one seat, so a team of five pays per seat or moves to Business.

What do you get with WRITER?

WRITER calls itself "the enterprise AI platform for agentic work." Its product set includes WRITER Agent, which you delegate tasks to, playbooks for repeatable processes, connectors to outside systems, a Knowledge Graph, voice and style guides, terms, and AI Studio for governance, identity and observability. It also offers WRITER Meet and apps for Slack and Teams.

The buyer here is often IT as much as marketing. WRITER lists ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and ISO 42001 certification, plus SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, PCI, GDPR and CCPA. Its homepage names customers such as Vanguard, KPMG, Uber, Dropbox and The Clorox Company, and lists integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot, Gong, ZoomInfo, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Slack, Snowflake, Adobe, Webflow and Contentful.

Starter is a self-serve plan for up to 5 users, offered monthly or yearly per seat with fixed credit limits. The plans page does not show the price. It includes 5 playbooks with up to 3 scheduled routines, one team voice profile and up to 3 active connectors, with a 14-day free trial that needs no credit card.

Enterprise is quoted by sales. It adds full AI Studio access and Agent Builder, an admin-curated agent library, unlimited playbooks and routines, departmental brand and voice profiles, unlimited connectors and unlimited free collaborators. WRITER also offers 20% off for nonprofits and educational institutions.

Where it fits: companies in finance, healthcare and other regulated fields that want one governed AI platform across marketing, sales and support. A five-person team can trial Starter, but the product is built for rollouts across departments.

What do you get with Copy.ai?

Copy.ai now calls itself a go-to-market AI platform. It combines workflows, actions, agents, tables, chat, an Infobase of company information and Brand Voice. Its listed use cases go well beyond copy: a prospecting cockpit, inbound lead processing, deal coaching and forecasting, account-based marketing, translation and CRM enrichment. It lists 2,000+ integrations, including Salesforce, HubSpot, Gong, Outreach and Salesloft, and works with models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Perplexity.

Pricing has two very different tiers. The Chat plan costs $29 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly ($288 a year), with 5 seats, unlimited chat projects, unlimited words in chat and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. That is the cheapest way in this comparison to give a small team a shared AI writing workspace.

The workflow plans are billed yearly:

Plan Price Seats Workflow credits a month
Growth $1,000 a month ($12,000 a year) 75 20,000
Expansion $2,000 a month ($24,000 a year) 150 45,000
Scale $3,000 a month ($36,000 a year) 200 75,000

Enterprise is custom and adds API access, bulk workflow runs and a designated support team. Each workflow run costs a variable number of credits depending on its steps, so model your main workflows in a trial before you pick a tier.

Where it fits: small teams that mainly want multi-model chat at a low price, or revenue teams with an operations owner who will build and maintain workflows across sales and marketing.

Which is best for brand voice and governance?

For a marketing team, Jasper gives the most brand control per dollar on a self-serve plan: voices, knowledge and audiences are all on Pro. WRITER goes further on governance, with certifications, AI Studio and department-level profiles, but you will be buying through sales. Copy.ai has Brand Voice and Infobase, but its pricing page does not say which plans include them, so confirm that before you count on it.

Whichever you pick, write down what the AI may and may not produce before rollout. Our AI usage policy guide covers the basics.

How to choose

  1. Who is the buyer? If it is the head of content, start with Jasper. If it is the CIO or a governance board, shortlist WRITER. If it is revenue operations, look at Copy.ai's workflow plans.
  2. How many seats? Five people on Jasper Pro cost $295 a month billed yearly. Copy.ai Chat covers five seats for $24 a month billed yearly. Get a WRITER Starter quote in its trial.
  3. Do people already use Claude or ChatGPT? If yes, Jasper's MCP server lets them keep their assistant and pull in brand rules.
  4. Is this writing or automation? If you need content, compare Jasper and WRITER. If you want lead processing and CRM enrichment, Copy.ai is the closer fit.
  5. Score it. Run each vendor through the same criteria with our free AI Tool Vendor Evaluation Scorecard, and check security with our AI vendor security checklist.

For more options, see our Jasper alternatives, the best AI tools for marketers, and the full marketing and writing categories. Our AI tools for marketing teams guide shows where a content platform fits in a lean stack, and if you want your content cited by AI answer engines, read our guide to AI visibility tools. To see which writing tools are gaining attention right now, check this week's AI tool rankings.

Bottom line

Choose Jasper if you are a marketing team that wants brand-safe content and agents now, at a known per-seat price, with MCP access from Claude and ChatGPT. Choose WRITER if you are a large or regulated company buying an AI platform for several departments. Choose Copy.ai Chat for a cheap shared workspace, or its workflow plans if you are ready to automate go-to-market work at a fixed annual budget.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheapest: Jasper, Writer or Copy.ai?+

Copy.ai. As of October 2026 its Chat plan costs $29 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly, and includes 5 seats. Jasper Pro costs $69 per seat a month, or $59 billed yearly. WRITER does not list Starter prices on its plans page.

Which tool has the strongest brand voice controls?+

Jasper and WRITER both build their products around brand control. Jasper Pro includes 2 brand voices, 5 knowledge assets and 3 audiences, with unlimited on Business. WRITER Starter includes one team voice profile, and Enterprise adds departmental brand and voice profiles.

Is Copy.ai still a copywriting tool?+

Partly. Copy.ai now calls itself a go-to-market AI platform. Its Chat plan covers writing, while its workflow plans automate prospecting, inbound lead processing, account-based marketing and CRM enrichment for sales and marketing teams.

Do Jasper, Writer or Copy.ai work with Claude or ChatGPT through MCP?+

Jasper does. It runs a hosted MCP server at mcp.jasper.ai plus a local option, with quickstarts for Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot Studio and n8n. WRITER's and Copy.ai's homepages did not mention MCP when we checked.

Do any of them offer a free trial?+

Jasper offers a 7-day free trial on Pro. WRITER offers a 14-day free trial of Starter with no credit card. Copy.ai shows a Try for free link but did not state trial terms on its pricing page.

Sources, checked 19 Oct 2026

  1. Jasper pricing
  2. Jasper
  3. Jasper MCP Server docs
  4. WRITER plans
  5. WRITER
  6. Copy.ai pricing
  7. Copy.ai

Keep reading